Picture
Zig Ziglar is the second to last on the right
I don't know much about it, other than it's trending on Yahoo and he died of pneumonia.  Zig Ziglar was a great man, who wrote many positive thinking/sales books, was a motivational speaker, and just kept hanging on, until he couldn't anymore. 

The only time I ever saw him in person was in 2009 or 2010 - I believe it was at this very "Get Motivated!" seminar pictured on the right.  He had a stroke and was up on stage with his daughter.  It was at a motivational rally that was mandatory through my husband's sales job at the time.  He didn't want to be there, but I just eat this stuff up.  It makes me feel more alive, more hopeful for the world and my future. 

Back to Zig, he was on the stage with his daughter and she was prompting him with questions.  He still had his spirits up and was making jokes up on stage.  His daughter had mentioned that he had recently had a stroke.  He kept saying one thing about marriage over and over again.  His daughter commented that someone in the audience must have needed to hear that, for Zig to say it over and over again.

I never even met the man, and never saw him in person in the prime of his life, but the news saddens me.  I just don't like good legends to die.  I wish I would've known him well enough to be invited to his funeral.  I love going to funerals because, they remind me to live each day as if I'm preparing for my funeral.  What do I want people to say about me?  Then I try to live into that person.

Anyway, enough about me, how do YOU respond to death?  Have you ever had a loved one (even if it's a cat) die?  Do you move on easily, or dwell on their life and the good times you had with them?  Neither one is right or wrong, just different.  Grieving is definitely an important process in life, whether it lasts a few days, or a lifetime.  Moving on with life after a loss is often a hard process.  I mean, how do you stay all put together on the outside when you just are falling apart on the inside?

Living with loss is something that all of us experience in life.  Some do it alone and some need help.  I'm here for you if you need help.  I'd love to hear any experiences you've had, either with loss, or with Zig Ziglar.  May a great man rest in peace.

Lisa Starr
Life/Corporate Coach
[email protected]




Leave a Reply.